What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Auction Advice - daveweim
Hi All,

I'm new to the forum so go easy on me but I read the HJ's column without fail every week. Basically, I have 4k to 4 1/2k to spend on a newish car. I'm looking at a Mondeo hatch as these seem to be the best value for money and are reliable. I am after an 02 or 03 130 diesel which I've seen advertised privately for around this sort of money. If I can sell my current car privately, I am considering buying at an auction at a reputable place like BCA at Belle Vue Manchester. Will £4k get me an ex-fleet with around 80k on the clock on a face lift model? I've heard horror stories about auctions but my mate has just bought an ex-fleet C-Max without any problems. Will £4k get me something half decent and avoid the 'dodgy motor' trap as I am not a car expert!?

Many thanks in advance for any help.

Cheers.
Auction Advice - Chris M
Use an auction buyer. Much safer if you don't know what you are doing, although it has to be said, you won't get the adrenalin rush of bidding for yourself. Won't cost you much more either.

There will be backroomers along soon to recommend Joe Dowd, although I think you are outside of his area, he will possibly have contacts near you.
That is great; thanks very much for the advice.
Auction Advice - Collos25
You will get a good 04/54 lx 1.8 petrol estate for 3500 to 4500.
Auction Advice - Roly93
All I can say is be focussed on what you're doing. Study the auction list prior to the auction and if possible note the prices alongside the cars you are interseted in. Also, be very carefull as to the description of the cars on the list as there are often mistakes which only come out when the auctioneer announces the actual model of the car. I was caught like this once when I thought I was bidding for the 1.6 but the car was actually a 1.4 which for some reason I didn't catch as the car was announced !