What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
honda accord ctdi - Buying diesel car - sra

hi

i'm bit new on buying cars by private sellers and this is my first time buying diesel always drove petrol passed on by family so need a lot of help from you motor heads and any honda accord ctdi owners..

car i'm planning to buy is Accord 2004 CTDI with 125k on the clock with service history till 105k

and MOT expires in few month have drove it drives ok with one previous owner, i'm mainly buying for the purpose as i do a lot of motorway mileage so help me out

-what to watch out for?

-what to check to see its worth not buying?

-how to check / find common faults?

-is mileage too much?

anything else you guys can add please do here.

and many thanks in advance

cheers

sra

I have read the following thread with great info - appreciate if any existing Honda accord owners can shed light on my purchase choice?:

"good example" indicators when buying a used car

Edited by sra on 11/02/2013 at 10:52

honda accord ctdi - Buying diesel car - gordonbennet

Not familiar with these but i check the present seller as much as the car.

Is he the sort of bloke to have slipped in a couple of oil changes himself between 105 and 125k, or could he have been mini cabbing it for 12 months with the speedo disconnected?

If at a dealer does he warrant the car himself or give you a sheet A4 bog roll with Worthless Weasel Words Warranty Ltd heading?

As you approach the car have a good look at the tyres, are they reasonable quality and in good order and do the discs and pads look decent through the wheels, if the tyres/brakes (two most important items) are carp i assume the rest of the car to be similarly neglected.

Have you looked at HJ's reviews above first of all? secondly do lots of research on the Honda forums.

honda accord ctdi - Buying diesel car - pd

Rattly timing chain would be the main thing I'd watch out for on these.

thanks - pd