What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Ford Focus Hatchback 1.8 TDCi 2001 - Ford Focus TDCi engine seized. - focus55

Hi guys, would really appreciate some advice with a situation I’m in. I bought a ford focus tdci 1.8 diesel 2001 hatchback two months ago from a dealer. It had done a verified 84k and had full service history including recent cambelt change. I am no expert but all fluid levels etc on the car seemed fine when buying, and until a few days ago it drove perfectly. I was doing 60mph on the M5 a few days ago when suddenly the engine started losing power (revs starting deceasing gradually for about 5 seconds) then it cut out. I had the air-conditioning switched on at the time (not sure if this makes any difference though as I have had air-con on many times before). The electrics were ok (cd player still on etc) but power steering and engine was gone. I steered the car onto the hard-shoulder, and called the RAC. The patrolman told me that the battery and engine fluids/oil were all fine, but that the engine had seized. He said he suspected it maybe the oil pressure but could not be certain other than that the engine would not turn over. No warning lights, or anything abnormal (such as engine overheating) had shown prior to this happening, and even when trying to start the car afterwards, still no warning lights displayed. When trying to start the car the engine would not turn over. The RAC towed the car to the dealer I bought it from as it was still under warrenty. Having had the car for a couple of days, the dealer he has told me there is over 8 litres of oil in the car, and that there is no way it could have driven any further than 50-60 miles without having had a problem. I explained that I had not added to or changed the oil in the two months I have owned the car, but that I had checked it regularly and it seemed ok (plenty of oil on dipstick around “maximum” level, but nothing that seemed excessive. F