What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Cleaning the thing! - Viewmaster
Hey guys and girls, (is there a lassie here with an i10?),

Now we all have our beautiful i10's how will you clean the thing? !
Pressure water jet?
Bucket and detergent?
Garage car wash(!!) ?
Waterless system?
Diamondbright it?
What?
Albert.

Edited by Pugugly on 20/09/2008 at 11:25

Cleaning the thing! - runboy
As a soon to be i10 owner I would:

Hose her down to remove the dust and get the rest of the dirt soaking
Fill two buckets, one with a quality wash product (Megs Gold if you want to spend, Halfords advanced wash if you want to save a bit)
Load up the wash mit from the suds bucket and wash her with sweeping movements, using the clean water to rinse the mit then reload from the suds and repeat until car is washed
Hose down again
Dry with a nice soft fluffy microfibre cloth
Add a coat of polish then wax

Or something like that. I'm no expert but some pointers I have learnt:
Never use the same thing to wash the body as you use on the wheels - keep them apart
Never use a sponge as no matter how much you rinse a car there will always be dirt and the relative hard surface of a sponge picks up said dirt and then you are in effect sanding the car - how many motors do you see with swirls these days?
Give her a good waxing now and again - keeps the paintwork in good condition.

For a more professional view on car washing just stick "car detailing" into an internet search engine and see what you come up with!

How are you enjoying the i10?
Cleaning the thing! - AlanGowdy
On new paint

Yes: wax. No: polish.

Yes: sponge (check it's free of grit or other debris) or chamois. No: brush.

Edited by AlanGowdy on 20/09/2008 at 11:05

Cleaning the thing! - Optimist
How long before polish on new paint?

(Nice morning for washing the car!)

Cleaning the thing! - P3t3r
How long before polish on new paint?
(Nice morning for washing the car!)