What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Insurance for my 17yr old son and me on a Mazda 2 - Turbodog
Like the look of the new Mazda 2 and fancy the 1.3 82 model. It's Insurance group 5 though; will that make it prohibitively expensive when I want to add my son to my policy to drive it when he turns 17 next year?
s
Mazda 2 for me and 17y old son - local yokel
Use on of the online insurance quote sites and put in his age at 17 now - and then put in a group 1 car for comparison.
Mazda 2 for me and 17y old son - Aprilia
I'm not an insurance expert but I'm guessing there won't be a terrific difference (percentage wise) between a Mazda 2 and a Group 1 car. I think both will be very dear; e.g. £2k for the Grp 1 car and £2200 for the Mazda, something crazy like that anyway. Please post back your results though, I will be interested to hear the exact figures.
Mazda 2 for me and 17y old son - Turbodog
I tried Tesco and Elephant. You were right, expensive and little difference between a 1.4 Mazda 2 (new model not listed yet) and a Ford Ka. Annual premiums quoted were between £1150 and £1250. There must be a cheaper way of doing this, but I don't want him driving an old car with 3rd party only....
Mazda 2 for me and 17y old son - gmac
Do Norwich Union still do the spy in the boot insurance ?
Maybe that would work out cheaper for a young driver. I personally wouldn't have such a thing in my car but it might help reduce your premium.
Mazda 2 for me and 17y old son - local yokel
> There must be a cheaper way of doing this, but I don't want him driving an old car with 3rd party only

There won't be ... and TPFT won't be much cheaper than Comp.
Mazda 2 for me and 17y old son - rtj70