What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Aston finds a good home - cardriver
I see on the BBC business news Ford has finally sold Aston Martin to a UK consortium headed by Dave Richards. Time will tell, but my view is that it will be in safe hands with Dave Richards who currently heads up Pro-drive.
I also understand he is looking at forming an F1 team - I wonder if we will see the Aston badge dressing the front of an F1 car in 2008.
Whilst I am no expert in company valuations I did think it went cheaply at £470M - but I'm sure Ford would have got every last penny they could have.
Aston finds a good home - Falkirk Bairn
Ford retaining a small stake in the new company - less than 10%

Ford need to cash to stem the "blood losses in the USA"
Aston finds a good home - jc2
Ford have not sold it completely and Pro-drive is expecting to still use Ford components.
Aston finds a good home - Hamsafar
news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6442101.stm

Hurrah! I would buy one to support this, but too many reasons I can't - all of them pounds :o(
Aston finds a good home - CJay{P}
If Aston Martin is making money, why sell?

{post edited, and merged with discussion already in progress. DD}
on finds a good home - nick
How much a year though? Is it more than the interest payments they'll save by repaying £450m in debt?
Aston finds a good home - Soupytwist
"If Aston Martin is making money, why sell?"

Indeed - the fact Aston makes money completely escaped the attention of the researchers on Radio 4's PM programme on Monday evening. They had an interview with Dave Richards who was asked by the presenter what made him think that he could turn Aston round and no indication of why Ford decided to sell. It was almost as though they saw the words "British car company" and assumed that it was in so much trouble that its foreign owners couldn't wait to stop propping it up.
--
Soupytwist !
Aston finds a good home - henry k