BBC Four now - Ford's Dagenham Dream. - Pugugly
Worth a watch - history of the massive Ford plant.
BBC Four now - Ford's Dagenham Dream. - Rattle
Just watched this and I found this very interesting, I studied a lot about motivational theries in the past and found it amusing how Ford made all their workers do the same job. Why was this not obvious that the workers would become bored? The Japaneese car plants always rotate workers and this is what Ford should have done.

Well done to the women for showing Ford that if the seat covers stoped being made the entire factory comes to a halt :)

I was also amazed at how dangerious the foundery looked and also the engine castings bit. This surely would not be allowed today?

Watching this you get the impression there was a lot of bullyboy management tactics which is now very old fashioned. I could just not imagine employing people and using bullying tactics to get results. If you employees are not delivering the goods then look at the reasons why, people are not lazy for the no reason.

I always find ironic that industrial unrest seems to be one of the biggest cause of job losses. It is a well known fact for example labour relations at Nissan in Sunderland are pretty good and it is no coincidence that this factory was also once (and maybe still is?) the most efficient in Europe?
BBC Four now - Ford's Dagenham Dream. - Altea Ego
>I was also amazed at how dangerious the foundery looked and also the engine castings >bit. This surely would not be allowed today?

go to any steel works - frightening place - still very dangerous
BBC Four now - Ford's Dagenham Dream. - DP
Sunderland

A friend of mine who grew up in the North East tells me the Nissan plant in Sunderland was THE place to work for a long time. Very informal management structure (team leader system), lots of variety, good fringe benefits and an excellent relationship between management and staff. They expected a lot of you, but gave a lot back in return.