97 1.4i coolant is streaming from tube underneath - Viv5645
hi, I'm new to this but desperate to get to root of probs with my car. Bought it private in Jan this year, duff purchase, ok, my problem. Head gasket blew big time, fixed. Thermostat housing was corroded, fixed. Fan didn't kick in, mechanic wiped connection and it started to come on when the red light showed on dashboard, so new switch fitted to radiator. Fan seems to be working correctly but the engine overheats because coolant leaks away. Car gets hot as soon as I hit heavy traffic and coolant begins to stream away from this small tube attached just underneath the cap, completely emptys itself on my drive after journey finished. Is it the pump, or the cap not sealed correctly or should this little pipe be attached to something? Apart from that, I actually lilke the car, it turns on a sixpence, is very comfortable, not too powerful, the heater works and the boot is big enough for all my equipment. Have spent more than I can afford and am worried.
97 1.4i coolant is streaming from tube underneath - Lud
Sounds like the coolant overflow pipe. Unless the header tank cap is faulty and not pressurising the cooling system, which is possible but unusual - check that first obviously - it sounds as if the coolant is over-pressurised. I am sorry to say that the most likely cause of that would be head gasket failure. I hope I am wrong. Others may correct me.

One way of checking is to take the header tank cap off, start the engine and rev it gently by hand. If the coolant level splutters or surges or foams visibly when you do this - be careful obviously - then you have HGF.
97 1.4i coolant is streaming from tube underneath - Peter.N.
I'm afraid I would concur.