What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Diesel Life Span - britmonkey
Hi (Im a newbie so please be nice)

Basically i have a large tank of diesel and I want to know if its safe to use it?

A site we have just taken control of has large and full diesel fuel tank, and I want to know if the contents are still useable.

The tank was filled with standard diesel (not red diesel) after the fuel strike as a back up to supply the companies vans if another strike happened.

It is being used to run the building generator without any problems.
But Ive drained a sample off and its a dark brown colour.
(There may have been some red diesel left in the tank when it was filled up with ordinary diesel).

I have found a link to a local company who claimes to clean diesel (mostly for boats), but not sure if they give any guarantees.

So does diesel have a shelf life? has it been contaminated with bacteria? Should I use it mixed with new fuel?

Britmonkey

Diesel Life Span - Mapmaker
What do you want to use it in?
Diesel Life Span - Dynamic Dave
What do you want to use it in?

Guessing a Mk2 Mondeo - as per the choice he made when composing his question. I was about to remove it as I thought it was a general question, rather than make/model specific. DD.
Diesel Life Span - oldnotbold
How full is the tank? The more air in the tank, the more chance there is of bacterial growth.

If there was even a small amount of red in the tank it will show up on an HMRC tank dip test, which is not good, as the vehicle will get crushed, and the owner then gets a day in court...

Your best bet is to sell it to a farmer/boat yard or someone who won't use it on the road. You can not clean red diesel of the dyes, despite what people may say, and even if you did, the risk is still far too high. People with canal boats will chew your arm off, as very soon they won't be able to buy red diesel.