What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
The future - for private car buyers - Andrew-T

We have had AutoTr@der for years, but presumably partly because of Covid, we now have the likes of Cazoo, Cinch and Motorway persuading us that a nice used car can arrive in something like an Ocado van. How do the crystal ball-gazers think this may change the ball game for traditional franchise or non-franchise dealers? On the face of it they have the advantage of offering test drives, after-sales service, freebies such as carpet mats and touch-up, but do the new habits represent a real threat to them ?

The future - for private car buyers - sammy1

None of these dealers are charity shops and you pay your money and take your chance. Frequently on here you have people who have bought from the above and when they have gone back they are treated with contempt, warranty of not it all comes off their profit. I have no experience of any body buying from the likes of Cazoo so how their warranty stands I do not know but they must have a high margin to operate like this but no glass palaces for overheads. Where they store and prepare their cars I do not know and if a buyer has a problem where is a car repaired? If I were buying second hand I would consider Motorpoint as they seem to have a fair selection at reasonable prices. I do not think the new brigade threaten the franchise dealers and I would not consider buying a car without seeing it. My preference has always been buying private and getting a much lower price. Much of the dealers profits are finance commission in whatever form

The future - for private car buyers - Will deBeast

>> when they have gone back they are treated with contempt