What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Volkswagen Golf Mk6 (2010) 1.4 TSI Automatic - VW Golf Mk6 DQ200 DSG 7 Speed - Worth Keeping? - Ishaq Kareem

Hi,

I recently purchased my VW Golf Mk6 2010 which has the 7-Speed DQ200 DSG gearbox. I've done some research and have read many forums on this particular DSG gearbox and learnt it appears to be very problematic, with serious and very expensive mechanical issues being inevitable.

The gearbox is also "sealed for life", therefore gearbox oil changes at 40,000 mile intervals cannot be carried out.

The mileage is only around 56000 miles and the drive in general is really good. I'm a conventional driver averaging about 4000 miles annually, rarely ever speed or drive above the speed limit, but on the odd occasion I do seem to experience a slight jerk whether it's driving off from standstill or whilst driving in general.

Apart from the odd jerk, which I fear may indicate future mechatronic issues, the car is solid and very good to me, and I was just wondering whether it's worth keeping the car and hope for the best or sell it while it's in good shape? And if so, are there any recommended auto's that rarely have any problems within the £8k budget, or should I stick to manual?

Many thanks in advance

Volkswagen Golf Mk6 (2010) 1.4 TSI Automatic - VW Golf Mk6 DQ200 DSG 7 Speed - Worth Keeping? - SLO76
Get shot of it.

Reliable alternatives include.

Honda Civic
Toyota Auris
Mazda 3

Stick with petrol and avoid automated manuals such as VAG’s DSG and Fords Powershift.
Volkswagen Golf Mk6 (2010) 1.4 TSI Automatic - VW Golf Mk6 DQ200 DSG 7 Speed - Worth Keeping? - badbusdriver

DSG boxes, even the weaker 'dry clutch' version you have can be reliable, but that is going to depend on how it has been driven. As you bought yours 2nd hand, you have no way of knowing this. And as such, I would also get rid of it.