What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Hyundai i20 (2009) - MOT Advisory question... - DJDools
Hi there

I'm hoping someone might be able to help...

My 2009 5-door Hyundai i20 had its annual MOT and service. The MOT came back with an advisory note:

"001 Brake pad(s) wearing thin, front [3.5.1g]"

The garage did phone and notify me (saying the pads were "at 90%" -- whatever that means) and was going to charge £108 to replace the front pads, but I declined at the time.

My car only has 24,000 miles on it (mostly urban driving) -- and I *think* I'm a fairly easy driver. Not heavy.

Before the service there was some occasional squeaking (seeming to come from the rear, mostly after a 3-point turn or after starting from cold), but that seems to have gone now.

Just wondering...

Am I dicing with death by ignoring the advisory note. Would YOU get the 2 front pads replace? If so, what would you expect to pay, roughly?

Would be grateful for any help. Thanks so much.
Hyundai i20 (2009) - MOT Advisory question... - RT

Urban driving is much heavier on brakes than rural roads - lower speeds but more frequent stops.

If you have a good independent workshop, discuss with them.

Hyundai i20 (2009) - MOT Advisory question... - galileo

My trusted indy changed front and rear pads on my i30 (at 46000 miles) for £120, so £108 for fronts only on an i20 seems a bit high.

Hyundai i20 (2009) - MOT Advisory question... - elekie&a/c doctor

Minimum thickness for brake pad material for an mot pass is 1.5 mm.So you are probably near that limit.I am sure a local indy could do the job for less.

Hyundai i20 (2009) - MOT Advisory question... - Cyd

Minimum thickness for brake pad material for an mot pass is 1.5 mm.

The 1.5 thickness for MoT requirements is the ABSOLUTE MINIMUM required by law for for a minimum level of safety.