BMW 5 series F10 - Bought a 2nd hand car, advice on service please - Shock

Recently bought a 01/2011 made F10 520d SE with 90K on the clock, so far really happy with it. Its a Manual car, not an auto.

Car seems to have been serviced regularly and had 4 main dealer services. Last service was done at 85K in January 2014. Ideally, I want to keep the car for a while.

Had an Audi A3 before this, so new to large BMWs & diesels..
I’m after some advice on what should I watch out for? Anything I should change/service now as a precaution? Any known faults on this model?

1) Timing chain issue, as I’m new to diesels will I be able to notice the noise?

2) Any special advice/care for Diesel Particle Filter?

3) Any special care for the Dual Mass Flywheel?

4) Anything else that I should watch out for due to the miles?

Thanks for any help,

BMW 5 series F10 - Bought a 2nd hand car, advice on service please - skidpan

Other than regular servicing with genuine parts and high quality oil there is nothing you can do other than hope nothing breaks. None of the parts you mention has a servicing requirement so other than driving there is nothing to do.

Any high milage car is a risk but based on the age/mileage yours has probably lead an easy motorway life so keep your fingers crossed.

Servicing at a BMW dealer is surprisingly economically priced but repairs can be quite pricey. Servicing at our local BMW indy was only a few £'s cheaper when I enquired but he save me quite a sum when a spring broke.

Edited by skidpan on 12/05/2014 at 17:01

BMW 5 series F10 - Bought a 2nd hand car, advice on service please - gordonbennet

4 oil changes in 85k is not the best regime, i'd switch to annual or 10k changes whichever comes first.

It might be old hat now, but lots of babies have been thrown out with unfashionable bath water, let the turbo warm up and cool down a bit before starting and before turning off if its been working.