What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Honda Accord 2.0l VTEC SE 5 Door Hatchback - Front/Rear Brake Pipe/Line Replacement Cost - Bazzy

I have just had my Car MOT'd and the garage called to say that it failed and needs the Front and Rear Brake pipe/lines replaced at a cost of £300. (they said that they need to replace over 4meters of pipe/lines).

Is this a true reflection of the work carried out at £300 or am I getting ripped off?

Please let me know as I am no mechanic?

Thanks

Honda Accord 2.0l VTEC SE 5 Door Hatchback - Front/Rear Brake Pipe/Line Replacement Cost - gordonbennet

You don't give a year of manufacture, so we can't really judge if this sounds right.

Highly unlikely that all pipes need replacing, but in practice when you start to undo scabby brake pipes the next section gets twisted up as the joints are corroded solid and you can end up doing near enough the lot, if the flexibles need replacing too then that cost could easily be about right.

Its good preventative maintenance to keep the pipes well greased/waxoyled from new, if well looked after they should last the life of the car, it can mean serious dismantling of the suspension to replace some rear pipes especially, often enough the rear subrame/suspension has to be dropped to gain access.

Most owners neglect brakes, the most important part of a car, until they fail the MOT, they need regular care and attention.

I'd be inclined to get a second opinion on your car and then compare.

Honda Accord 2.0l VTEC SE 5 Door Hatchback - Front/Rear Brake Pipe/Line Replacement Cost - Bazzy

Honda Accord 2001 Year

Thanks for the Information.

I don't think I could get a second opionion as they said that the car had no brakes as the pipe burst during the MOT brake test

The garage said that it required over 4meteres of pipe to be replaced.

Honda Accord 2.0l VTEC SE 5 Door Hatchback - Front/Rear Brake Pipe/Line Replacement Cost - gordonbennet