Estates MPV or 4x4 - What a decision !! - logger

I guess what I am asking is everything for very little money but here goes !

I need a car with a big boot for around £2k or under. Its for a big dog !.. Its going to be a workhorse but I dont really want a dog of a car (pardon the pun ). It would be nice if it it didnt look too dated

I have had lots of cars and 4x4's so I am not a novice but this is wrecking my brain..

As its not going to be the main car ( less than £5k a year ) I am not too worried about MPG and happy to have a 4x4

4x4

Ford maverick / Nissan Terrano , Jeep grand cherokee, Vauxhall frontera, Toyota Rav4, Isuzu bighorn, Kia sportage

Estates

Volvo 850 / V70 / V40, Subaru Legacy, Ford Mondeo, Ford Focus, Mercedes E class, Skoda Octavia, Subaru imprezza(non turbo), Bmw Series 5, Vw Golf, Vw Passat, Alfa Romeo 156

MPV

Vauxhall zafira, Ford galaxy, Seat alhambra, Vw sharan

This could end up being a very long forum topic as everyone will have a different view but any help/advice would be appreciated

Thanks

Estates MPV or 4x4 - What a decision !! - unthrottled

An estate will have more space, better handling, better acceleration and better fuel economy than any comparably sized MPV or 4X4. Period.

Some of the newer MPVs like the Ford S Max are cavernous-and apparently still handle well but they are way out of your budget.

When you're buying an older car (which you will be!) simple is good. A largish FWD estate has a huge cargo capacity with the seats folded flat, and is a proven simple layout. Unless you have a compelling reason for 4X4, I'd be inclined to avoid it.

Estates MPV or 4x4 - What a decision !! - jamie745