What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Ford Mondeo - 03 Reg 2.0 TDCi 65k Miles - DMF issue, I pay 50%?? - CJ508

I recently bought an 03 Modeo from a trade company who are part of 'West Yorkshire Trading Standards Motor Trade Partnership for £3000. The price was above what I would have liked to have payed but having the assurance of a 'reputable company' was worth the extra money to me. Plus I'm no car mechanic and thought there would be an extra element of trust.

Before purchasing I took it for a test drive and it drove well. The only issue was a knocking noise on start-up which I was advised was normal for a diesel and it was put in writing that the issue would be fixed.

After driving the car away, 2 or 3 engine starts later it sounded like a bag of spanners was being washed under the bonnet, the engine wouldn't rev and the cluth stuck flat to the floor. After switching the engine off and starting again, it did the knock but ticked over if not a bit noisy. I had a mechanic mate look at it for peace of mind and he straight away that it's most likely a fault with the Dual Mass Flywheel and it sould need to be replaced.

I contacted the dealer who said he'd look at it but said it's very unlikely theres anything wrong with the DMF. At the dealership, he took it for a drive and flatly denied it to be a DMF issue, even though the horrible spanners under the bonnet issue arose on two occasions. He had a quiet word with his service manager who advised to have an update to the ECU which should solve the problem and that it should be booked into Benfield Ford down the road to have this (which would've taken over a week to arrange!).