What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Fuel (What do you do?) - bhoy wonder
Over the last month I have actively been looking for garages that sell their fuel cheaper than others. I have never done this before, as I never thought it?s been worthwhile to save a few pence. This got me thinking. (Too much spare time)

I always used the Jet garage about a mile from my house. But at present I have been using a Shell garage, which is about 3 miles from me as it is always about 2p cheaper for its fuel (diesel) Also every garage I drive by I am now looking at there price for there fuel. (Never bothered before)

What do other back roomers do?
Fuel (What do you do?) - FotheringtonThomas
Use petrolprices.com (newsletter). Prices within 10 miles of me vary by up to 6p/L for "ordinary" unleaded.
Fuel (What do you do?) - bhoy wonder
Joined the other week.
Fuel (What do you do?) - ForumNeedsModerating
Living in the sticks (..and Welsh sticks at that..) I have a distance-price calculation approach.

If I know I'm going to need fuel & happen to be driving 'out-of-county' as it were, I'll use a filling station that I know is consistently lower (Shell 3-5ppl) to fill in passing. Other than that, there's a slightly cheaper one 20 miles away (again, use this if passing) or the default Tesco or local (1 mile away - 0.5 dearer than Tesco) if not planning to travel much.

Two pence a litre 'saving' on 50l gives me a saving-range of about 10 miles (round-trip) - so unless actaully planning to drive that way on business, it costs more to drive to a cheaper outlet than the saving is worth.

Lucky urban dwellers probably have it easier in this respect.
Fuel (What do you do?) - Round The Bend