What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
£3000 to spend on a motor to Geneva - esteban
I have £3k to spend on a car to drive me to and from Geneva where I will be living for 8 months. I want something that is going to be relatively comfortable on the motorway, largely maintenance free, fuel economy is not highest priority but a concern. I need to be able to put stuff in it as I will be moving so tiny cars aren't going to work.

My question is, what do I get? I have been looking at cheap Volvo V40s, leather clad Honda Accords and even a couple of big Toyota Surfs and tinny RAV4s. So far I am not convinced by any of them.

What are the honest John recommendations for a cheap reliable workhorse? I think trouble free motoring is most important, I have had my fare share of buying from the heart cars, now I am trying to buy using my head.
£3000 to spend on a motor to Geneva - Avant
Try a Skoda Octavia - preferably a TDI. I'm not an expert but would guess that £3K would get you one about 6 years old - abvoid one that's been a taxi. Maybe try Autotrader.
£3000 to spend on a motor to Geneva - local yokel
Merc W124 300 Diesel saloon. Tougher than old boots, and it's what they are made for. Have a party in the boot.
£3000 to spend on a motor to Geneva - esteban
I had thought about these but they are hard to find. To be honest I don't understand the E class system at all. Autotrader does not seem to list W124 as an option, so I am presuming they are just E300s?
£3000 to spend on a motor to Geneva - local yokel
Check the CBCB for W124 dates - seems that the last were in 96, so getting on now. Challenge is finding one that has been looked after, and if I'd looked after one, why would I be selling it, given the cost of a better motor?

Decent diesel estates still go for £6000 at dealers, so £3k might be too little.