Extracting pure water from coolant syste - MapReader
Today my car over heated - unfortunately it was bone dry. I know, it was all my own fault, nothing wrong with the car at all. I've learnt my lesson.

So, a very helpful person came along and topped my coolant system up with water. Very kind of him, however he filled it right up, leaving no space to add anti-freeze.

Has anybody got any easy methods I could use to extract about a litre of water? I am not technically minded at all and only have limited tools.

It's a Ford Fiesta 1.3, year 2000.

Thanks in advance.

Extracting pure water from coolant syste - bell boy
take the pipe off the expansion bottle,if all coolant lost ,how?why?and what have you done to rectify the fault?
--
\"a little man in a big world/\"
Extracting pure water from coolant syste - Dynamic Dave
As the sytem was dry, you need to really make sure the car has at least a 30% (50% preferably) mix of antifreeze / water in it.

Removing a litre of water, to then top back up with antifreeze isn't enough.

Suggest you remove the bottom hose from the radiator to drain as much of the system down, then consult your handbook to find out what capacity your cooling system is. Divide that figure by two and put that amount of antifreeze in, then top up to the required level with water.

However, if the system was dry, it would indicate you've got a leak somewhere - which needs investigation.
Extracting pure water from coolant syste - MapReader
Thanks for your speedy replies. I realise the car needs some attention, however it's sat on my drive with zero anti-freeze and the weather forecast says -3 tonight, and I've got no garage to put it in. My initial query was to ensure it had some protection for tonight at the very least. Is it alright to leave it for tonight without anti-freeze?
Extracting pure water from coolant syste - bell boy