VW Tiguan - Family car help needed - pigface
Hi all,

Sorry if this is asked a lot on here, I’ve been forced to quickly replace my car which was written off by someone reversing into it. I have a limited amount of time before returning the hire car and have little car knowledge.

Needs:
Max budget £7k-£8k
Space (my Ibiza was far too small for growing family)
Bluetooth audio (as a working musician I use this every journey)
Hoping for no older than my Ibiza, which is 2014
Hoping for as little hassle in terms of garages/issues - reliability!

I usually average around 30-50 miles per day, with the occasional longer motorway journey a few times a month and a roadtrip to central France a couple of times a year.

My first question is - should I disregard diesel? Most journeys are in 30-40mph zones with less frequent long distance ones

My shortlist at the moment is:

VW Tiguan (2.0 diesel)
VW Tiguan (1.6 petrol - yet to find one suitable within budget)
Kia sportage
Seat Leon
Seat ateca (seems beyond budget)
Seat altea/Altea XL (although I think this is probably bigger than what I need!)

For various reasons (friends’ advice/ones the wife thinks are ugly etc…) I have ruled out Dacia, Skoda, Ford and the Nissan qashqai.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
VW Tiguan - Family car help needed - Adampr

Yes, you probably don't do enough miles to justify diesel.

A Honda Jazz might suit. It's a lot more spacious inside than your Ibiza despite being about the same size.

Otherwise; Honda Civic, Mazda 3, Toyota Auris, Kia Ceed or Hyundai i30 are the obvious choices. Suzuki Vitara is also worth considering. Seat, Skoda and VW are all the same underneath so I don't think you could focus on two and exclude Skoda (unless.you just don't like the look). You tend to pay more for VW than the other two, but don't actually get any better quality.

I doubt you could find a decent Sportage for the sort of money you're talking about.