Does new consumer rights act 2015 apply to my car? - A_M_J

First post - apologies if this is not the right place.

I purchased a new car (Vauxhall Astra). The car was registered on 30 Sept, but I didn't pick it up from the dealer (& part exchange my old car) until October 2nd. It now has a major intermittent fault which started in the first 2 weeks and which was attempted to be repaired by the supplying dealer. The fix hasn't worked and the same fault is still there. I have no confidence that they can fix the problem. Does the new Consumer rights act apply to me - i.e. point of sale is 2nd October when I took delivery, or is it the date the car was registered (Sept so falls under the old Sale of Goods act)?

I am a driving school instructor so it's essential I have a reliable car. I'm not a business as such, so does the new consumer act still apply to me as an individual purchasing the car - even though I'm using it for my self employed work?

How do I reject it, or go about demanding a replacement as I can't simply walk away and not have any use of a car (has had dual controls fitted).

Does new consumer rights act 2015 apply to my car? - Avant

Even under the old Sale of Goods Act you have the right to reject the car, as you've given the dealer a chance to fix the fault and they have failed to.

Does new consumer rights act 2015 apply to my car? - RobJP

I would imagine that the new CRA does apply, as it would seem that the purchase happened on the 2nd October.

However, you need to act immediately. Bear in mind that the CRA actually only grants a complete rejection within the first month (which is now over).After that, they are allowed to attempt a fix before you can reject.

As such, you really need to write to them, explaining that under the CRA you wish to invoke your rights. That you are now giving them one final attempt to fix, after which you will demand a full refund.

Does new consumer rights act 2015 apply to my car? - A_M_J