What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Ford Focus 2007 2.0l - Buying a Ford Focus [2007] Any advice welcome! - Skor42

Hi all,

I am viewing a car tommorow with a view to buying, but as its my first time buying a second hand used car im obviously a bit worried...we've all heard the horror stories.

If anyone can give me some basic advice on things to look out for, questions to ask seller..etc it would be greatly appreciated, particuarly from anyone with experience of 2.0l petrol 07 focus.

Thanks,

Skor42

Ford Focus 2007 2.0l - Buying a Ford Focus [2007] Any advice welcome! - oldroverboy

Read Honest johns buyer guide, google focus 2.0l 2007 problems...

Are you buying from a ford main dealer?

whatever the warranty, if it is a "free" 3 month warranty it is not worth the paper it is written on.

Go to autotrader and compare similiar cars within a reasonable distance for you, for instance if there is one from a ford main dealer close to your price look at that one, next, the big national chains used cars, (franchised) and then the major car supermarkets. I can personally recommend Ron Skinner here in south wales, but buying local for a 5 year old car is a bit better. If your budget will stretch a bit, buy newer and smaller, my advice is always to buy as new as possible.

Finally, why a 2.0 focus?

Edited by OldRoverboy on 18/07/2012 at 08:44

Ford Focus 2007 2.0l - Buying a Ford Focus [2007] Any advice welcome! - FP

"...why a 2.0 focus?"

Because it has a bit of poke at least. When I dumped the idea of driving a diesel I wanted a second-hand petrol that wouldn't be too dull to drive. The 05 Focus (Titanium) has proved a good choice for me. I initially worried about economy, but get 36 - 39 mpg in mixed driving, up to 45 mpg on the motorway at about 70 mph. (I always calculate brim-to-brim and do so every time I buy fuel.) Good handling, excellent brakes.