What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Reason for Front Coil Spring Snapped ! Help ! - Bmw318ise
Hi all,

I need all of your advise.

My bmw E46 's front coil spring snapped, I would like to know the reason for that.

I have got a warranty on my car but the insurance company insisted that the snap was due to the cold weather.

I am no expert in car. But will it be the main reason for that to happen ?
or will it be happened anyway ?

Please advise me as many reason as possible.

I will start off by the cold weather condition or maybe corrosion.

Anymore ??

thank you.
Reason for Front Coil Spring Snapped ! Help ! - doctorchris
What tales these insurance companies spin to avoid a payout!
Coil springs do not snap due to the cold, they snap due to poor manufacture and corrosion.
There are many posts on this forum regarding failure of coil springs and I will leave you to search for more information.
Don't let the insurance company get away with this.
Reason for Front Coil Spring Snapped ! Help ! - L'escargot
Fatigue failure. tinyurl.com/dzsz6y
Reason for Front Coil Spring Snapped ! Help ! - Collos25
If that were the case then not many cars would run in Moscow.
Reason for Front Coil Spring Snapped ! Help ! - Brit_in_Germany
If that were the case then not many cars would run in Moscow.

Let alone Munich.
Reason for Front Coil Spring Snapped ! Help ! - TimOrridge
I would say maybe a faulty batch of springs at time of manafacturing. The springs on my Audi are approaching 16 years old so and they are rusted up.
Reason for Front Coil Spring Snapped ! Help ! - Number_Cruncher
L'escargot is, of course, quite right. Virtually all coil spring failures are fatigue failures.