1999 1.25 Heating Issue - festalx
Heater only blows cold air.

If i turn the fan off and leave it for a few minutes, then start the fan up again... warm air blows out for a short time, then goes cold. This can be repeated.

Heater control valve?

Thanks,

Details: T reg 1.25 engine, coolant level is fine.

1999 1.25 Heating Issue - Rattle
The solinoid on the heater control valve seems to either be stuck or open if its faulty not variable. For this reason I would say the fault is more likely to be the heater control panal, e.lg the bet on the dasbhoard where the heater controls are. This sends the signal the heater control valve. I could be completly wrong of course as I am not a mechanic, I have just inidrectly owned 3 fiestas in the past two years so I know their faults all too well.
1999 1.25 Heating Issue - DP
May as well change the valve as a first port of call. It's cheap (£25 or so on Ebay) and pretty easy to do, and is a ridiculously common problem on the Fiesta and Ka.

If not, change the panel as Rattle suggests. A breakers is probably your best bet for this.

Unfortunately, testing isn't as simple as checking for voltage at the valve, as the system uses a series of control pulses to operate the valve. It's a ridiculously over-complex solution to a simple problem, and like most over-complex solutions, is unreliable and unfit for purpose. Ask anyone who's owned a Fiesta for a couple of years and they'll probably have had heater problems.

Valve first, in any case.

Cheers
DP
1999 1.25 Heating Issue - mfarrow
I should think what is happening is the valve is stuck open part way and is allowing hot coolant into the heater matrix at a low rate - enough to saturate it after a while but not to sustain a full warm flow. A bit like turning the fan on after the engine's been switched off. IIRC there is a by-pass hole in the valve itself, so you may be just be feeling the affects of that.

Yes, replace the valve with a geniune one.
Thanks for the replies.