Simplest to service new small petrol engine? - oilrag
Got into a conversation about small petrol engines and what would be the simplest to service, an engine with hydraulic tappets, chain cam and not with wet liners or known weaknesses.

I realised at that point that i knew nothing as I have been diesel focussed for 17 years.

I remember an old 1.3 Polo that just seemed to need oil, filters and plugs at about that time, but what`s its contemporary?

We discussed the small Japanese engines and these seem to need tappet adjustment.

How about the smallest petrol engines from Ford, Vauxhall and VW? for simplicity of home servicing and reliability?

What are the reasons (re servicing ease) for your choice?

(Car factors excluded, just the engine and its ease of servicing at home and its reliability)

Regards

Edited by oilrag on 07/02/2008 at 16:40

Simplest to service new small petrol engine? - Jase
I'm no mechanic, but would like to offer up for the purpose of discussion the engine in my 1998 Corsa. It's the 1.2 8V asthmatic model. That must be pretty basic. Apologies if too old to be considered.
Simplest to service new small petrol engine? - gordonbennet
Well Oilrag, methinks as we are deafened by the silence on this subject that buyers of small petrol engined cars dont do any of their own servicing so i'd hazard a guess that its unknown.

Should imagine if you'd asked the same 30 or so years ago, there'd have been hundreds of replies from us poor young things, maybe modern buyers are much better off than we were, or have vehicles become so complicated that many are put off even changing oils etc.

Maybe its only the likes of us daft blighters that actually do any preventative maintenance now.

Do normal people service their cars anymore for the right reasons, or is it now purely to get the stamp in the book for resale purpose.
Simplest to service new small petrol engine? - DP