TDCi oil black immediately after garage - eljay
Hi,
I have to get my 03 Mondeo TDCi (31000 miles) garage-serviced for a insurance-type warranty.

When I got the car home (4 miles) the oil was already black!
I've heard this happens quickly with diesels, but that quickly???
I have had little previous experience with diesels.
Could someone with greater knowledge help me to guess whether this is normal or should I do it again myself to be certain please?

Thanks

eljay
TDCi oil black immediately after garage - Adam {P}
I have little to no experience with diesels but from what I gather reading on here, yes - it turning black that quick isn't out of the ordinary.

For the sake of your car, don't believe what I say - make sure a few people back me up first!
TDCi oil black immediately after garage - Dynamic Dave
www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=43599
www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=42087

Probably more, but that was only using a forum search going back 3 months.
TDCi oil black immediately after garage - cheddar
That is normal, the oil in a diesel picks up soot deposits and enough old oil is in the engine when drained for the new oil to look blackish after the engine has only been started for a minute or two. If the engine was flushed it would stay cleaner longer though not much longer. My TDCi is on 109k miles and has been as you describe following each service.
TDCi oil black immediately after garage - Hamsafar
It makes you wonder what the hell it is, it stains cloth and driveways and even skin like ink!
Surely not just plain soot?
TDCi oil black immediately after garage - chriswales