What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
4X4 Braking Distances - v8man
Did anyone read the Ferrari Special edition of Autocar?
There is an interesting bit in the letters page about braking distances. The Porsche Carrera GT on road tyres with ceramic composite discs and eight piston calipers did 70-0mph in 52.1m with a kerbweight of 1472kg. The Land Rover Discovery TDV6 HSE on dual purpose tyres did 70-0mph in 51.2m with a kerbweight of 2718kg.

Rather puts paid to one of the anti-brigades main arguments that 4X4's have longer stopping distances!

As a Range Rover driver I may be a little biased, but it has to be good for all motorists to have some factual evidence as we are all under attack by the anti-car groups.
--
\"Nothing less than 8 cylinders will do\"
4X4 Braking Distances - Schnitzel
Interesting, they should do an advert "If he was driving a 4x4 he would have stopped HERE......"
Anyone have any other stopping distances for comparison, ie is the Disco especially good, or is this par for the course?
4X4 Braking Distances - Aprilia
Sorry, but I simply don't believe it. I have driven many 4x4's, including ones with horrendous brakes (like the Frontera - which I personally think is dangerous). At one time I had (briefly) a company Range Rover (was working for them at the time) and have also driven Disco's (although not the very latest one).