What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Buyer cancelling cheque? - pete2003
Yesterday I sold my car (honda prelude) privately. The buyer paid me by cheque, and (on their advice) I wrote them a receipt sold as seen and tested.

The test drive went really well, and they drove the car away fine. Today I received a call from them complaining that they couldn't start the car this morning, and they have discovered the engine oil was extremely low, and the spark plugs badly corroded. They told me they wouldn't have bought the car had they realised I'd not bothered to top up and check the oil regularly. (I'm not a mechanic). I gave them all the paperwork I have including receipts for the previous oil change (In 2002).

I am worried they may now cancel the cheque, and try and return the car to me (assuming they get it started). Can anyone advise me what my (and their) rights are.

I'm delighted to have sold it and really don't want it back.

Thanks

Pete

p.s I know cash or bankers draft would have been best, so please don't remind me of this.
Buyer cancelling cheque? - DavidHM
Their rights are zero, assuming the car is as described. They have contracted with you to buy the car 'as seen' and while that would be meaningless if you were a trader, the Sale of Goods Act applies only to transactions in the course of business.

If they were to cancel the cheque, you would be entitled to the car back and to sue them for the difference between what they agreed to pay for the car and what you eventually get for it, assuming you make reasonable efforts to get the best possible price for it, plus any reasonable expenses and interest.

However, the ethos of politeness and support on this site precludes me from saying what I think of you, acting offended when a somewhat naïve private buyer is disappointed to have purchased a car that you haven't looked after.