What is life like with your car? Let us know and win £500 in John Lewis vouchers | No thanks
Wills Q - tdc

Could someone please point me in the right direction to a credible online source, which will confirm or dismiss my hope, that in the UK,as is the case in another Western country, a copy of the deceased`s will can be requested by next of kin before it is formally read?

Thanks.

Wills Q - FP

Interesting question.

I'm not a lawyer, but...

Surely the first issue is where the will is being kept. If it's in private hands the release of it will be entirely within the discretion of whoever's got it, though I would assume the law allows an executor to see it, as in the situation below.

If the will has been deposited with a solicitor, the following applies: "Bear in mind that wills are not public documents until probate has been granted. Until then, only the executors are entitled to see it. A solicitor or the probate registry will not provide the will to you if you are not named in it as an executor." (from tinyurl.com/dxpowma)

There are provisions in law, it seems, to get executors to act within a reasonable time if they are dragging their feet.

If this is a practical situation you're facing, and you are an executor trying to access a will in private hands maybe you should seek further, professional, advice. However, it doesn't seem likely that a family member who's not an executor would have any rights in this respect. On the other hand, if you are concerned about the legitimacy of a will you should definitely seek the advice of a solicitor, with a view to contesting it, which you can do after probate has been granted and the will becomes public.

Edited by FP on 19/08/2013 at 20:15

Wills Q - Bromptonaut

Not sure what you mean by formally read - the reading of the will after the funeral is US/Hollywood fiction and bears no realtionship to process in England and Wales (Scotland and NI may be different)